Powerball Logo
Independent Powerball results and info from around the world

Who Will Be The Next Powerball First Millionaire of the Year in 2024?

Who Will Be The Next Powerball First Millionaire of the Year in 2024?

The countdown is on until the special First Powerball Millionaire of the Year promotion finds its winner for 2024.

Haven’t set your New Year’s resolutions yet? Halfway through 2023, you might think it’s too early for that. However, you could start 2024 strong and become a millionaire once the ball drops in Times Square.

Dick Clark Productions (DCP) and Powerball confirmed that they’ll be collaborating again to present the Powerball First Millionaire of the Year promotion. But how does it actually work and who can enter this draw?

First, semi-finalists are selected via local draws organised by the 23 state lotteries that participate this year. Next, five finalists are chosen in a nationwide draw and, finally, one of the finalists will win the $1 million grand prize. 

The 23 participating lotteries in the 2024 Powerball First Millionaire of the Year are: Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana (Hoosier), Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virgin Island, and Washington D.C. These lotteries will open entry periods throughout the summer and fall. If you’d like more information on how you can participate, check with your local lottery.

If you find yourself to be one of the five finalists, you’ll be in for a treat! The Experience Package or The Trip Prize will allow the finalists to participate in the drawing for the big prize. You get to bring one guest so you can both enjoy a three-night VIP trip consisting of luxury accommodation at a Times Square hotel, tickets for a welcome event and dinner, as well as tickets for a private NYC excursion and entertainment experiences. There’s more - tickets for a VIP New Year’s Eve dinner and entertainment, gifts bags worth $200 dollars, $1,000 spending money and, it goes without saying, all meals and transportation are included too.

Previous lucky winners

Last year, Gary Krigbaum from North Carolina won and his daughter, Sarah Day, was the recipient at the event on his behalf. Brian Mineweaser from Honey Brook in Pennsylvania won in 2022 and Carlos Mabry from Washington D.C was the lucky winner the year before that. The first-ever winner was Blaine Marston from Passadumkeag, Maine in 2020.

If you want to find out more about this promotion, you can visit our First Powerball Millionaire - New Year’s Rockin’ Eve page.

Page Last Updated: 6/22/2023 9:11:14 AM ET

Wednesday October 4th 2023
$1.2 Billion
Time Left to Enter
  • 0d
  • 0h
  • 0m
  • 0s